Friday, December 8, 2023

Paradise in the Wakatobi Islands

Wakatobi Regency is in a group of islands in the Southeastern peninsula of the Southeast Sulawesi Islands, Indonesia, to be precise southeast of Buton Island. Please note that the name WAKATOBI is an abbreviation of the 4 main islands, namely Wangiwangi, Kalidupa, Tomia, and Binongko

The area of Wakatobi Regency is around 18,377 km², consisting of a land area of ± 823 km² or only 3%, and a water area of ± 17,554 km2 or 97% of the area of Wakatobi Regency is sea water. Administratively, Wakatobi Regency consists of 8 sub-districts, 75 villages and 25 sub-districts.

On July 11 2012, by acclamation Wakatobi was unconditionally approved as an Earth Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO and signed by the Regent of Wakatobi in Paris. Previously, Wakatobi had long been used as a National Park

In terms of natural beauty, Wakatobi has a complete package, namely beauty on land and beauty in the sea. Wakatobi is well known internationally so the facilities here are very complete

The government center or city center is in the city of Wanci on Wangi-Wangi Island. The majority of residents in Wakatobi are Muslims and come from the Bajo, Bugis, Maluku and Javanese tribes as well as other immigrants. The airport in Wakatobi district is Matahora Airport in the city of Wanci or Wangi-wangi and flights only go to Kendari & Makassar once a day by ATR type aircraft.


No comments:

Post a Comment